Remember ‘freshman fifteen’?

Well, my sister and I gained more like ‘freshman fifty’!  My parents did not recognize us at the airport and my mum’s horrified look when she saw us was priceless.  It looked like someone had messed up her order – I could almost hear her say, ‘I did not place an order for two roly-poly daughters, topped off with zits, and dry and patchy skin!’

She did not waste any time worrying and got to work, more like got us to work.  It was going to be a cleansing process inside and out!  First, we got gym memberships and had to go twice a day, in the morning and evening.   Along with having this juice (made of lemon, honey and warm water) that was supposed to help with the weight loss.  Then there was the daily mask we had to apply for ½ hour every morning to brighten our complexion, which I still go back to when I feel my skin is starting to look dull and needs some rejuvenation.  This is my favorite!

You need to following ingredients –

  • Strawberry – in the summers, it is easy to get a box of strawberries.  For the winter you can buy a box, freeze it and take out one strawberry each time you want to make the mask.
  • Coconut cream – a small can from any store will last a long time.  Make sure to remove the cream from the can into a plastic/glass container and refrigerate it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All you have to do is –

  • Mash the strawberry and mix half a teaspoon for coconut cream
  • Apply the mask and leave on for ½ hour

… and Voila!! The results are visible pretty quickly, even with just weekly applications – the coconut cream helps nourish and clear the skin, whereas the strawberry helps in the brightening process.

This mask is very easy to prepare and using it before you head out in the evening will give your skin that radiance.  Of course, please DON’T try this if you are allergic to coconut or strawberries!

